Download The Smithsonian Book of the First Ladies Free Books -

Download The Smithsonian Book of the First Ladies Free Books

Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

English - 324 pages - ISBN-10: 0805017518 - ISBN-13: 9780805017519

4/5 by 29 votes

America's first ladies are forty-three remarkable women whose individual stories and causes reflect the history of all American women.This is the first comprehensive biography of the first ladies for young readers. Edited by Edith P. Mayo, curator of the First Ladies exhibition at the Smithsonian Institution, this essential volume not only documents the lives of the presidents' wives (or official hostesses), it explores the achievements of these significant women in the White House and beyond.Young readrs will be especially drawn by the book's eleven highlighted entries about issues important to American women, and by one hundred twenty-seven pieces of art and their captions, which tell a visual history of their own.The Smithsonian Book of the First Ladies draws heavily on original source material. It includes images from the Smithsonian, the Library of Congress, and a host of other diverse collections; four general introductions give an overview of the major events of each historical period.Part women's history, social history, and American history, this accessible reference book is important reading not just for young women, but for anyone interested in the story of our country.



Zoey Demotte

This is one of the best books that I have read so far in my life. You won't be disappointed.

Ethan Walker

Nice It has a nice story about how to always let go the past and fall in love.

Ethan Demotte

It was damn awesome, sweet, the way of describing the romance was just marvellous

Recent Books

A Gathering of Ravens
A Gathering of Ravens
Scott Oden
Beowulf meets The Lord of the Rings meets Bernard Cornwell in an epic novel of vengeance, faith and the power of myth.To the Danes, he is skraelingr;...
The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set (Books 1 to 7)
The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set (Books 1 to 7)
C. S. Lewis
Collection includes all seven novels in the series.